Serving the children and educators of the great state of Tennessee.

Tennessee School Plant Management Association

In 1978, school plant managers and other supervisory personnel from across the state of Tennessee were invited to attend the fifth annual SSPMA convention in Gatlinburg. During this conference, approximately 40 Tennesseans under the leadership of Dr. Nile McCrary organized and chartered the Tennessee School Plant Management Association on May 4, 1978.

Throughout its existence, TSPMA has held an annual conference to train and to provide new technology to school plant managers. In the interest of promoting and enhancing the education process, the annual conference provides for the exchange of information to improve the school plant management, maintenance and care by promoting acceptable policies, standards and practices. The TSPMA organization also seeks the professional advancement of school plant management and is a strong supporter of the National School Plant Management Association (NSPMA).

Adult people at conference listen to woman speaker providing lec

Thus far, TSPMA has held an annual conference in the following Tennessee Cities: Murfreesboro, Nashville, Pigeon Forge, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Gatlinburg. TSPMA has training in various areas to certify school plant managers. TSPMA has school plant managers certified as TSPMA Plant managers one and two. TSPMA worked to bring the Building Operator Certification to Tennessee in conjunction with Pellissippi State Community College. Fourteen plant managers completed the eight-month course and received their certification as BOC 1 from the BOC and from TSPMA. TSPMA currently is working to complete a second class in the middle part of Tennessee in 2014.

The TSPMA will continue to serve the school plant managers of Tennessee by offering training, networking, and guidance to keep the school plants of Tennessee School in shape to serve the children and educators of the great state of Tennessee.

2022 TSPMA Executive Board Members:

Executive Director - Debbie Shedden

President - Randy Hill, Hardeman County Schools

President-Elect - Phillip Graham, Greeneville City Schools

Immediate Past-President - Ed DePew, Bristol City Schools

Treasurer - Robert Leslie, Williamson County Schools

Historian - Thomas Hatfield, Metro Nashville Public Schools


2022 TSPMA Board of Directors:

Debbie Shedden - Executive Director, NSPMA Vice-President

Randy Hill - President, Hardeman County Schools, NSPMA Board of Directors

Phillip Graham - President-Elect, Greeneville City Schools

Ed DePew - Immediate Past-President, Bristol City Schools

Robert Leslie - Treasurer, Williamson County Schools

Thomas Hatfield - Historian, Metro Nashville Public Schools

Bill Shedden - Ex-Officio, NSPMA President-Elect

Randy Mauldin - Vendor Representative - TRANE

Dillon Fontaine - Schneider Electric

Jeff Seay - Hamblen County Schools

Allen Thacker - Oak Ridge City Schools

Patrick Underwood - Etowah City Schools

Ricky Bryant - Lincoln County Schools

Mary Kington - Cumberland County Schools

Adam Christopher - Williamson County Schools

Jared Foust - Crockett County Schools

Curtis Vandiver - Hardeman County Schools

Serving the Children & Educators of the Great State of Tennessee.